The official language in all African countries African peoples use nearly 2,000 different languages, the most important of which are Arabic in the north of the continent and Swahili and French in sub-Saharan Africa.

Of the 54 countries, these three languages ​​are official in 34 countries, and together they have more than 400 million speakers, almost a third of the continent’s population.

Below we take a quick look at the official languages ​​of all African countries.

An overview of the official languages ​​of Africa

Many African countries use more than one official language, including some Arab countries such as Morocco And Algeria Where Tamazight is official, along with the Arabic language.

Arabic is the official language in twelve countries in Africa:

  • Algeria
  • Comoros
  • Chad (non-Arab country)
  • Djibouti
  • Egypt
  • Libya
  • Eritrea (non-Arab country)
  • Tunisia
  • Mauritania
  • Morocco
  • Somalia
  • Sudan

French is the only official language in eleven countries, including the Democratic Republic of the Congo, which is the largest French-speaking country in the world.

Other countries where French is an official language are:

  • Burkina Faso
  • Boys
  • Financial
  • Niger
  • Guinea
  • Ivory Coast
  • Gabon
  • Chad
  • The central African Republic

The most common languages ​​in Africa

The most spoken language in Africa is Arabic, with an estimated number of speakers from 150 to 200 million people, the majority of whom live in North Africa.

French ranks second with 120 million speakers, followed by Swahili with 100 million speakers, Hausa with 40 million speakers, and then Yoruba language with 30 million speakers.

The Berber language is used by about 23 million people living in all Arab countries in the north of the continent, mainly in the Maghreb countries.

The official language in all African countries

# Countries Languages
1 Burundi French, Kirundi
2 Comoros Arabic, Comorian, French
3 Djibouti Arabic french
4 Eritrea Tigrinya, Arabic, English
5 Ethiopia Amharic, Tigrinya, Somali, Oromo, Afar
6 Kenya Swahili, English
7 Madagascar Malagasy, French
8 Malawi English, Chihuahua
9 Mauritius English, French
10 Mozambique Portuguese
11 Rwanda Kinyarwanda, English, French, Swahili
12 Seychelles English, French, Seychellois Creole
13 Tunisia Arabic
14 Morocco Arabic, Tamazight
15th Sudan Arabic English
16 South Sudan English
17 Algeria Arabic, Tamazight
18 Egypt Arabic
19 Libya Arabic
20 The central African Republic French, Sango
21 Mauritania Arabic
22 Zimbabwe Chichewa, Shona, Kalanga, English, Khoisan, Namibia, Nadu, Tsonga, Northern Ndebele, Chihua, Sutian, Zimbabwean Sign Language, Tonga, Vendi, Tswana, Kosic
23 Niger French
24 Cameroon French and English
25 Guinea Bissau Portuguese
26 Angola Portuguese
27 Nigeria English
28 Financial French
29 Senegal French
30 Liberia English
31 Sierra Leone English
32 Togo French
33 Guinea French
34 Burkina Faso French
35 Zambia English
36 Ghana English
37 Uganda English, Swahili
38 The Gambia English
39 Ivory Coast French
40 green head Portuguese
41 South Africa English, Zulu, Zulu, Afrikaans, North Sotho, Tswana, Sutian, Tsonga, Swazi, Vendi, South Ndebeli
42 Eswatini English, Swazi
43 Namibia English
44 Lesotho Sotho, English
45 Botswana English, Tswana
46 Boys French
47 Chad French language, Arabic language
48 Republic of the Congo French
49 The Democratic Republic of the Congo French
50 Equatorial Guinea Spanish, French, Portuguese
51 Gabon French
52 Sao Tome and Principe Portuguese
53 Somalia Somali, Arabic
54 Tanzania English, Swahili
Translate »