All countries bordering the Norwegian Sea are located in the northwest of the continent of Europe, off the western coast of the State of Norway, and its area is about 1.3 million square kilometers.

Below we take a quick look at all the countries bordering the Norwegian Sea.

Overview of the Norwegian Sea

The Norwegian Sea is a marginal sea located in the northeastern Atlantic Ocean between the North Sea and the Greenland Sea, between Norway and island Iceland.

The bottom of the Norwegian Sea is not part of any continental shelf, and as a result, it is fairly deep, with an average depth of about 2,000 meters, and its deepest point at 3,970 meters.

The Norwegian Sea contains abundant natural resources represented in oil, natural gas, and wealth, especially in the eastern part of the sea near the coast of Norway.

The exclusive economic zone around the Lofoten Islands (Norwegian Islands) is one of the richest fishing sites in Europe, mainly for cod.

The countries and islands of the Norwegian Sea

Four European countries have coasts on the Norwegian Sea, which are:

  • Norway
  • Iceland
  • Denmark
  • United kingdom

On the borders of the Norwegian Sea, there are several large islands such as Iceland, the Faroe Islands, and the Jan Mayen Islands. These islands are considered the geographical borders of the sea, and they are as follows:

  • Iceland: Western Frontier
  • Yan Mayen Island: Northern Frontier
  • Faroe Islands: the southwestern frontier
  • Shetland Islands: the southern border

The Shetland Islands are a group of Scottish islands located in the far south of the Norwegian Sea, with a population of 23,000, and an area of ​​1,466 square km.

Jan Mayen Island is a Norwegian island located between the Norwegian Sea and the Greenland Sea. It has an area of ​​377 km² and a population of 40.

All countries bordering the Norwegian Sea

# Countries
1 Iceland
2 United Kingdom (Shetland Islands)
3 Norway
4 Denmark (Faroe Islands)
Translate »